Skip to content

San Francisco: California Academy of Sciences

January 22, 2011

When my husband and I were up in San Francisco for New Year’s, we decided to check out the California Academy of Sciences in Golden Gate Park.  It’s part museum, part aquarium, part library, part planetarium…plus, it was one of the few tourist attractions that was actually open on New Year’s Day.

Now, this also meant that it was insanely crowded on New Year’s Day. We didn’t make it to all the different parts of the museum, because some of the lines were just out of control. But in a few hours there, we did see some cool things.

I’m not sure if it was the crowds or the really high admission fee, but I wouldn’t say that this was the greatest museum (or aquarium, or library, etc.) that I’ve ever been to. Maybe I’m just spoiled by the fact that I live so close to the San Diego Zoo that I can see most of the animals alive, actually living and breathing, and the admission is cheaper. But as far as taxidermy goes, it was a pretty impressive display.

No comments yet

Leave a comment