Skip to content

New Year’s in San Francisco: 826 Valencia

January 5, 2011

I’ve been forced to take a little break from the internet while my computer has been in the shop, but I’ve been dying to share a few details from New Year’s weekend in San Francisco.  There were lots of high points: dinner at A16, the view of fireworks on the Embarcadero from a hilltop in Chinatown, stocking up on snacks in the Ferry Building.  There were a few low points, too: shops I’d been hoping to visit closed all weekend for the holiday, the hour-long line at Tartine Bakery, the massive crowds at the California Academy of Sciences on New Year’s Day.  Oh yeah, and the 24 hours it took to get home because of the weather.

But back to the high points.  My husband and I stumbled across 826 Valencia on a previous trip to SF years ago, and we were excited to stop by again.  If you’re not familiar with the “826” stores, they are themed gift shops that support a nonprofit organization founded by author Dave Eggers to help students build strong writing skills.  Sure, supporting kids’ education is great and all, but lets be honest – we were there for the theme.  Which is pirates.  826 Valencia a pirate supply shop.

Hidden throughout drawers in the store’s wall are a variety of supplies for your average pirate, from extra peg legs to glass eyes.  We bought one of our friends a glass eye last time we visited.  This time, JT purchased this shirt.

During a previous visit, I also purchased this sign.  I keep it posted at my desk at the office for guidance.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 8:54 pm

    AAAARRRRRRrrrrrr me matey.

Leave a comment